New members of the Permanent Synod were elected by the Synod of Bishops

Tuesday, 18 September 2012, 22:06
On Friday, the Synod of Bishops taking place in Portage la Prairie near Winnipeg in Canada, elected new members of its Permanent Synod. The Synod Fathers mandated the following bishops to serve as members of the Permanent Synod for the coming five years: Volodymyr (Viytyshyn), Archbishop and Metropolitan of Ivano-Frankivsk; Ken (Novakivsky), Eparch of New Westminster; Yaroslav (Pryriz), Eparch of Sambir-Drohobych; Borys (Gudziak), newly named Apostolic Exarch for Ukrainian Catholics in France, countries of Benelux and Switzerland.

His Beatitude Sviatoslav thanked the former members of the Permanent Synod:  Bishop Ihor (Vozniak), Archbishop and Metropolitan of Lviv; Bishop Vasyl (Semeniuk), Archbishop and Metropolitan of Ternopil; Bishop Pavlo (Khomytsky), Eparch of Stamford and  Bishop David (Motiuk), Eparch of Edmonton, for their willing and  successful services and welcomed the newly-elected members of the Permanent Synod.


The Permanent Synod is a group of bishops working under the patronage of the Patriarchal Synod and is the Advisory Council for the Head of the Church.  The Cannon Code for Eastern Churches specifies  that the Permanent Council be composed of the  Patriarch and four bishops with a five-year term.  Three of these members are chosen by the Synod of Bishops of the Patriarchal Church, of which at least two should be from among the eparchial bishops and one is nominated by the Patriarch (can.115  § 1,2,3).

UGCC Department of Information


We can imagine what the prayer of the prisoners in the Russian torture centers in the Ukrainian Kharkiv region was like – Head of the UGCC on the 206th day of the war 17 September

A vast cemetery, a mass burial, was found near the city of Izyum, in which more than 400 innocently killed and tortured people have already been...

Prev Next